Doing Things Just Because

A weekly letter to warm your soul

Happy Tuesday my loves!

This week Iā€™ve done something Iā€™m pretty excited about. I signed up for yoga teacher training!

Iā€™ve played with the idea of becoming a yoga instructor for a while now, but something has always stopped me- I canā€™t see myself actually teaching yoga.

Now hear me out. I enjoy yoga. I love how it makes me feel, I love cultivating self-awareness, I love seeing my own progress and I really do align with a lot of the values that yoga embodies. The thing is though, I have a day job already, and if I was to do anything else, it would be something more creative. I donā€™t feel any gravitational pull towards earning a living through teaching yoga at the gym or at yoga studios, especially when Iā€™ve never felt quite at peace there myself. I prefer doing yoga in the comfort of my own space, and Iā€™m also pretty lazy. I like getting out of bed, going into my living room and practising yoga in my pyjamas. I don't want it to feel like work.

So why on earth am I doing yoga teacher training?

This is the exact question that has stopped me from doing this any sooner. Iā€™ve always thought, ā€œwhatā€™s the point of me learning to be a yoga teacher, if Iā€™m not actually going to teach it?ā€.

Itā€™s a fair point really, but then I had a discussion with a friend about university and what we would have done differently. She mentioned that she would have done history instead of medicine because it's the subject she really enjoyed at school, and that the only reason she didnā€™t do it at the time was because she didnā€™t know what she would do with the degree after. She thought there was no point committing herself to learning so much about a subject if it didnā€™t resemble the career she would end up in.

My immediate reaction was, ā€œso what?ā€. Why does there need to be an end goal, a contribution to our careers or where weā€™re going, or even a tangible reason to do something? Why canā€™t the reason be ā€œjust becauseā€?

We donā€™t always have to do things because it will lead somewhere. I realised that I wanted to do yoga teacher training so that I could learn more about a subject Iā€™m already interested in a more structured way. That seemed like reason enough.

So I guess the point of this newsletter is that there doesnā€™t always need to be a point, and this is coming from someone who is always thinking about intention and the "why" behind things. If itā€™s something that brings you joy, expands your knowledge, sparks an interest, or makes you feel more like ā€œyouā€, then thatā€™s all the reason you need to start something. Whether it's learning a new skill, getting to know someone or thinking about how you spend your time, having a reason is great and all, but sometimes it doesn't have to make sense, sometimes it just has to feel right.

Do it just because you want to.

Love,

Akta

Words Of The Week

ā€œI was once afraid of people saying, ā€˜Who does she think she is?ā€™ Now I have the courage to stand and say, ā€˜This is who I am.'ā€

- Oprah Winfrey

Video Of The Week

Here's my daily routine on weekdays/how I plan and structure my day to stay balanced and productive. I kinda hate the word productive, but I like the idea of...