Balancing your feminine and masculine energies

Masculine energy is focused on doing and feminine energy is focused on being. Most of us have lost the balance in society's pressures.

Lately, I've been wanting to do nothing. I've had no motivation to get any work done, to meet up with anyone, or to go anywhere. I've lost my "fight". I realised it was a side-effect of burnout, among other things, so instead of pushing these feelings away, I've leaned into them. And in the process, I've unlocked a hidden source of energy: my feminine energy.

null

I've always prioritised action. I've always chosen doing over being. Whenever I saw Nike's slogan "Just do it", I took pride in knowing I was the type of person to do whatever "it" was. But a few weeks ago, I came across the concept of masculine and feminine energy. I realised I'd been revelling in my masculine for far too long. 

Within us all is an equilibrium of masculine and feminine energy, unrelated to our gender identity. These binaries are interconnected, like yin and yang or the sun and the moon. They exist on a spectrum, and we move between them. The problem is that society favours and rewards masculine energy: drive, ambition, success, and action.

We're all on an endless pursuit that commands our masculine energy. We feel productive, like we're worth something to society. Our feminine and masculine energies are in a constant tug of war, and the feminine side is the first to fall.

As the feminine falls, we become wounded:

  • We attach our worth to success

  • We're easily triggered

  • We're more defensive

  • We become overly critical of ourselves and others

  • We struggle with self-image

  • We're constantly looking for external validation

  • We lack boundaries

  • We struggle with connection

themindsjournal.com

Our lives move forward when we lean into action, productivity, and purpose. That's why we get bogged down in our goals, to-do lists, and routines. But we also need to ground ourselves in the present moment and connect with ourselves. Otherwise, yes, we may be moving forward in life, but we don't flow through it with a sense of ease. Our progress is strained and laboured.

My coffee mug has a phrase printed on it: "Be aggressive". That's been my motto for so long. I believed that I had to battle against what the world expected of me. I always thought I had to use my strength to soar through life.  What I didn't realise was that fluidity, softness, and compassion made the journey more graceful. I didn't need to fight to be. I could simply be. 

Michelle Montague

Our feminine energy needs channels to flow alongside its counterpart, the masculine energy. Like the sun and the moon, they co-exist with equal importance. Both providing a setting of beauty and purpose. Both letting each other take the limelight. They find their rhythm, moving across the sky. A dance, rather than a fight.

💭Made you think

An overthinker's delight

The Parable of the Farmer and the Horse — A parable to remind you not to judge a situation too quickly.

The Ridiculously Obvious Meaning Of Life — Some more thoughts on why we should focus on being. 

Follow embracing instead of escaping, for this experience is no curse, it is not something to be avoided. We must run towards our experience with open arms and be ready to receive what unfolds for us.

Yoga Flow For Circulation — A beautiful, gentle flow that helped me to create some space for myself this morning. I love finding YouTube videos to flow along to, so let me know if you'd like me to share them with you more often.

🎬 YouTube

Even though I have a filmed my next video, I'm not sure when I'll post it. As well as enjoying a break, I've been thinking about what I want my YouTube channel to look like so that it's more sustainable and enjoyable. Thank you so much for your patience ☺️

Love,