The difference between joy and happiness

Why the pursuit of happiness makes us unhappy and why we should look for joy instead

Hey you,

What are the happiest moments of your life?

I'll go first. My happiest moments include: qualifying as a dentist, getting married, the holidays I've been on, and moving into the flat. Even thinking back, I still smile.

But there's a problem with my list. It's full of the big, memorable moments. They're the milestones that don't come around too often. And they're moments I won't experience again (hopefully anyway, I don't plan to be like Ross with his 3 divorces). This means for the majority of my life, I won't be my happiest self.

Happiness is elusive. We never know when we're going to have it and we work so hard for it. It finally comes but not for long. Soon we're back to another chase.

Social media only makes this worse. Our feeds present happiness as luxury holidays, extravagant parties, more friends, and material goods. A life of wealth, glamour, and excitement. This creates the illusion that happiness is reserved only for a few but it's something we should all be striving for. But the pursuit for happiness quickly becomes a never-ending search. And I don't know about you, but it leaves me feeling exhausted, stressed, burnt out, and quite frankly, unhappy.

This is why happiness is a trap. It's not something we should be striving for. Instead of chasing happiness, we should be looking for something else: joy.

VSCO

The similarities between them are deceiving. But pay attention to the nuances and your life will open up to you.

  • Happiness is found externally in other people, things and places. Joy is found internally within ourselves.

  • Happiness is rooted in circumstance. Joy is a choice.

  • Happiness isn't always within reach. Joy is found in any moment at any time.

  • We look for happiness in the future. Joy grounds us in the present.

  • Happiness is fleeting. Joy is constant.

  • We never feel like we have enough when we chase happiness. Our hearts swells with gratitude when we look for joy.

  • You lose yourself looking for happiness. You find yourself in joy.

  • Happiness makes you rush and chase. Joy allows you to slow down and savour.

I no longer seek happiness. I no longer spend my days hoping it will arrive. Instead, I focus on finding joy. I look for smiles, laughter, peace, and serendipity. I strive to experience more of life with the moments I already have.

β˜•οΈ The cosiness of a cup of tea

πŸ• When Rolo, our dog, curls up next to me

🌲 Forest walks

πŸͺŸThe sound of rain against a window

πŸŒ… Watching the sun rise and set, turning the sky into a palette of hues

πŸ₯° Cuddling up to my husband

πŸ₯˜ Home-cooked meals with the family

🎲 Playing boardgames with my friends

πŸ§–πŸ½β€β™€οΈ The warm embrace of my dressing gown

πŸ‚ Watching the seasons change

Rolo choosing me as his spot to fall asleep

A lot of us overcomplicate our lives by chasing after happiness. We think once we reach a certain level of financial freedom, we'll be able to relax and enjoy the simple pleasures. But joy isn't like happiness. We don't need to wait until some distant future to enjoy it, it's here right now.

You won't find joy on your Instagram feed. That will put you back on the chase of happiness. You'll find joy in your own life. And it's everywhere.

πŸ’­Made you think

β€œIf the path before you is clear, you're probably on someone else's path.”

Carl Jung

✨ An overthinker's delight

Advice from 90 year olds - I think the elderly offer some of the best advice. My personal favourite from this list is, "whenever you hug someone, make sure they are the one to let go first".

Mimetic traps - I became a dentist but realised it wasn't for me and ever since, I've wondered how I ended up on that path. This reflection from a SpaceX engineer gave me an answer. Timar realised he fell into a "mimetic trap" when he pursued physics. This is the human tendency to imitate those around us.

🎬 Thought behind the video

Stop trying so hardΒ - If you're doing all the right things and you still don't have what you want, you might need this reality check. I made more friends, changed my career, improved my skin, and met my partner when I stopped trying so hard.

Where do you find joy in your life? I'd love to know.

Have a great weekend,

Love,