Faith in the weather

A weekly letter to warm your soul

I have always wanted to get married outdoors.

I loved the idea of being amongst nature and being able to look up at the sky, I couldn't think of a better ceiling above us. So naturally, when I got engaged, we decided to get married during the summer months and we chose our venue based on its outdoor space.

I had no back up plan.

My venue kept asking me for my wet plan in case it rained, and much to their frustration, I told them I had none. I didn't pay for any wedding insurance either. Given my wedding was in the UK, this may have been a bad idea and a week before the big day, the skies were grey and the weather forecast wasn't looking too good. Everyone told me it might rain during the wedding. I told them to stop looking at their weather apps.

Finally, my wedding day arrived. It ended up being the hottest day of the year. I had the outdoor wedding I always dreamed of.

I know I sound crazy for not planning for every possibility, especially as I'm a notorious over planner. The thing is, there was this unexplainable feeling I had inside of me that told me the wedding would be everything I imagined it to be. That feeling was faith.

I'm a strong believer in faith. I don't just mean in a religious sense, but having faith in others, faith in ourselves, faith in our beliefs and faith in something that's greater than us- whether that's God, fate, the universe, magic, love or any of the other abstract constructs which intersect with our daily lives.

I'm not saying we should ditch our preparations or stresses completely, but I think we can all live better with faith. If you're struggling with work, have faith that you will work through it as you always have done. If a friend doesn't message you in a while, have faith that maybe she has a lot going on but feels the same about you as she always has. If you're going through a break up, have faith that you'll get back together stronger than ever or that someone else is more meant for you. If you have something uncomfortable you need to do, have faith in the beliefs that led you to your decision in the first place.

Throughout my wedding, my feelings of faith were stronger than they had ever been, telling me I was in the right place with the right person at the right time. If it was going to rain we would have figured it out and made it magical in some way. Thankfully the skies cleared for us though.

I hope you're all having a great week and holding faith in whatever way serves you.

Love,

Akta

Quote of the week

"But you've always been good enough, you've just been giving the best parts of you to the wrong people" -R.H. Sin

Video of the week

This is a bit of a different video for me.Iā€™m nervous posting this (especially knowing people in my real life may watch it) but I've watched similar videos a...