Be a dragon

A weekly letter to warm your soul

The narrative I’ve been faced with, especially in a south Asian upbringing, is that women should be respectful and quiet. But that is not me, it never has been.  

For as long as I can remember, I always got involved in debates and spoke up against things I didn’t think were right. As a result, my brothers called me a dragon. It used to bother me a lot, and I would always run to my mum, asking her to make them stop. 

I’ve also been told on numerous occasions that I’m too direct, and can come across as aggressive. It has always hurt me because I know my voice comes from a place of good intention. 

Then, a while ago, I had a conversation with someone about something I passionately and firmly believed in. I spoke up against that person. Afterwards, I told my mum, asking her if I was wrong for speaking out, and she told me it was one of the very things she loved most about me and she wished that she was more like me.

It was the most validating conversation, possibly in my entire existence. It made me realise that the fire in me was ok. Ever since that conversation, I’ve started to embrace that side of me so much more, and I’ve noticed a change not only in myself, but those around me. The same people who told me I was aggressive have started to appreciate how I stand up for myself in a world that has always told me to be sit back down. 

Now, whenever I watch a movie and it has a dragon in it, my brothers will point and say “look Aks, it’s you”. And I’ll nod and smile. There I am, the dragon. 

Words Of The Week

“Write it on your heart

that every day is the best day in the year.

He is rich who owns the day, and no one owns the day

who allows it to be invaded with fret and anxiety.

Finish every day and be done with it.

You have done what you could.

Some blunders and absurdities, no doubt crept in.

Forget them as soon as you can, tomorrow is a new day;

begin it well and serenely, with too high a spirit

to be cumbered with your old nonsense.

This new day is too dear,

with its hopes and invitations,

to waste a moment on the yesterdays.”

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Videos Of The Week

Living in the moment isn't easy. It's hard not to live inside our heads, getting distracted by our own thoughts, anxiety, the past and the future. So often w...

A 3000 subscriber Q&A! I can't believe there's 3000 friends on this channel, this was originally a 1000 subscriber and then 2000 subscriber Q&A so this has e...

P.S. You may have noticed that I didn't send out a newsletter last week! Truthfully, I've been pretty overwhelmed with wedding planning, Youtube and general life stuff, and I didn't feel very inspired to write because of it. Thank you so much for being patient with me :)